Baker Mayfield of Oklahoma Sooners takes Manning Award as nation’s top QB


NEW ORLEANS — Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield has been named the 2017 Manning Award winner after a season in which he passed for 4,627 yards and 43 touchdowns.

Mayfield is the first Sooner and first former walk-on to win the Manning Award, which is given to the nation’s top college quarterback and is the only award to consider post-season performances in voting by a national media panel as well as Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning.

Mayfield also won the Heisman Trophy this season and led the Sooners to a Big 12 championship, as well as a semifinal berth in the College Football Playoff.

Other finalists for this year’s Manning Award were: Ohio State’s J.T. Barrett, Clemson’s Kelly Bryant, Southern California’s Sam Darnold, Alabama’s Jalen Hurts, Louisville’s Lamar Jackson, Penn State’s Trace McSorley, UCF’s McKenzie Milton, Oklahoma State’s Mason Rudolph, Auburn’s Jarrett Stidham and Arizona’s Khalil Tate.

Source link

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

NBA commissioner Adam Silver supports players wearing ‘Enough’ T-shirts, speaking out
Minnesota Timberwolves trading Jimmy Butler to Philadelphia 76ers
Novak Djokovic dismisses Alexander Zverev, Marin Cilic downs John Isner at ATP Finals
TAB Betting Blog Don’t sleep on Just dreaming at Rosehill
Pittsburgh Penguins trade Carl Hagelin to Los Angeles Kings for Tanner Pearson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *