European Track Championships 2017: Britain’s Elinor Barker and Ellie Dickinson win madison gold


Barker won gold at the Rio 2016 Olympics in the team pursuit

British pair Elinor Barker and Ellie Dickinson won gold in the madison on the final day of the European Track Championships in Berlin.

Olympic team pursuit champion Barker, 23, and Dickinson, 19, took the title on the final sprint.

Welsh rider Barker claimed her second medal after winning team pursuit silver in the British quartet on Thursday.

Britain have now won four medals after Katie Archibald took gold in both the individual pursuit and the omnium.

After crashing in Saturday’s keirin semi-finals, Katy Marchant did not start the sprint qualifying.

Sophie Capewell, the second British sprinter, was also beaten by Spain’s Helena Casas in the round of 32.

What is the madison?

Perhaps the most confusing track cycling event to follow, the madison – named after Madison Square Garden in New York, where the event was first held – is similar to the points race but with teams of two riders.

Women compete over 30km (120 laps) and intermediate sprints are held every 10 laps, with five points for the winner followed by three, two and one for the next three over the line.

These points are doubled for the final sprint at the end of the race. Teams can also earn 20 points by gaining a lap on the main bunch.

One rider is always active, while the other continues to ride round, but is effectively ‘resting’ at the top of the track. At the changeover, the active rider users a ‘hand-sling’ to propel their partner into the action.

The team with the most points at the end of the race is the winner.

Great Britain team in full:

Women’s Sprint: Sophie Capewell, Katy Marchant.

Men’s Sprint: Jack Carlin, Philip Hindes, Ryan Owens, Callum Skinner, Joe Truman.

Women’s Endurance: Katie Archibald, Elinor Barker, Eleanor Dickinson, Emily Kay, Manon Lloyd.

Men’s Endurance: Steven Burke, Kian Emadi, Chris Latham, Mark Stewart, Andy Tennant, Ollie Wood.

Source link

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Argentina’s Nicolas Kicker, ranked 100th, banned for match-fixing
Mike Leach retweets link to edited video of Barack Obama speech from 2014
Allen Pinkett, Don Criqui out as radio broadcast team for Notre Dame Fighting Irish
Dwayne Haskins named Ohio State starting quarterback heading into preseason camp
Mercito “No Mercy” Gesta beats Roberto “Tito” Manzanarez, Manny “Chato” Robles III stops Edgar “Kid Neza” Valerio

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *